Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jgarrett75 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Aug 8, 2014, 04:31 PM
    Sue for Custody
    My ex boyfriend in I had a verbal agreement on joint custody on our pedigree dog. During the time he was not working I paid all the expenses on the dog I have records and receipts. He does not take care and abuses the dog, I have witnesses. Recently he asked me to sign a document he prepared for joint custody when I contacted a lawyer to review the contract before I signed it my ex boyfriend went into hiding with the dog and will not respond to my contact. I plan on suing him for custody of property. I'm sure he will not show up in court, if I win my case how will the law enforce him to give up the dog.
    Jacalyn Libby Posts: 9, Reputation: 1

Aug 8, 2014, 04:39 PM
    I am so sorry for what you are going through... You must be worried sick! I am not a lawyer but if you can't find him then you don't have any options. I would still proceed with filing suit against him which may lead to a warrant for his arrest (contempt of court.) Then if he surfaces and can be arrested it will look good in your favor all around. Best of luck. He is probably doing this for spite and the judge will recognize this. Bless you.
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

Aug 8, 2014, 05:42 PM
    The first response is not a consequence of Small Claims, which only gives a monetary award, and it's up to you to collect it. 'Custody' does not apply to pets either. I am afraid that your chances of any legal action providing results are slim. The dog is property, and with proof of purchase and receipts for care, you can of course go to Small Claims and win by default if he doesn't show up, but the Court will not find your ex nor the dog, will not send out the police, and will not attach his bank account.
    AK lawyer Posts: 12,592, Reputation: 977
    Expert

Aug 8, 2014, 05:57 PM
    .. He does not take care and abuses the dog, ...