Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    srivatsann Posts: 32, Reputation: 1

May 7, 2014, 08:21 AM
    Dual status - permanent resident to non-resident
    Hi,

I have been a long time resident of US (11 years) and have returned to my home country India in 2012. In 2014, I am planning to surrender my Green Card in June.

1) For the year 2014, should I file as resident or dual status resident?

2) If I file as dual status resident, would I completely revoke standard deduction or is there a pro-rated deduction that can be taken for the 6 months I had the green card?

3) Will I be able to claim exemptions for my wife and son who will also be surrendering their green cards?

4) Indian Salary/Capital Gains earned post June need NOT be reported to US. Am I correct?

5) Can I file W8-BEN to necessary authorities immediately after surrendering Green Card?

6) Do I need to file 1040-C?

Thanks
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

May 7, 2014, 08:55 AM
    You can file a joint return one last time, but you must claim ALL world-wide income if you do. If you file dual-status, you claim all world-wide income up to the date you formally surrender the green card. You get to claim your wife and child on either the joint or dual-status return, but you get NO standard deduction at all if you file dual status.

The Form 1040-C is technically required, but you will not be stopped at the airport if you fail to submit it. Bring your last pay stub with you so you can show that sufficient taxes were withheld from your pay if asked.

The Form W-8BEN is not needed, but you WILL need to submit a Residency Termination Statement with the final tax return regardless of which one is filed.

If you want professional help filing, please email me at the email address in my profile.

May 7, 2014, 09:31 AM
    I guess I will need professional help. I will contact you when time to file 2014 return nears.