Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    alisa1650 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Apr 3, 2007, 03:09 PM
    Property tax lien sales
    Hi everyone and thank you in advance for your advice. I have been researching property tax lien sales for a few years and I think I have all the information needed except for the last part. Once I know which properties may go up for auction, how do I go about researching the property to make sure it is not a lemon without spending a lot of money? It doesn't seem smart to just drive by and look at it. I don't want to get something that will not re-sell because of any number of conditions it may be in. I firmly believe this is a golden opportunity but I always seem to chicken out because I don't know anyone who has ever done this. Any advice would be helpful, especially if someone reading this has already done it.
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Apr 3, 2007, 03:11 PM
    Do you mean you want to buy to flip ?
    alisa1650 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Apr 3, 2007, 03:14 PM
    I'm not sure what a flip is. I'm interested in homes where the owners have not paid their property taxes for several years and the county puts it up for auction.
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Apr 5, 2007, 03:35 AM
    A flip is where you buy a house for back taxes, forclosures, run down properties and fix them up for a profit.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Apr 5, 2007, 06:17 AM
    Ok, I'm afraid you haven't done enough research if you don't know the term "flip". I've done almost no research in this area and know what tickle meant.

Check with the county, there may be a period between when the list is published and the actual auction that prospective bidders can inspect the property.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.