Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    anthonygm Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 18, 2005, 11:33 PM
    Change drain location for New Whirlpool Installation
    My project involves removing an existing 5 foot by 28 inch wide bath tub and installing in its place a 6 foot by 36 inch whirlpool. I have check out all the details and I have the room needed to fit the tub and do the installation properly and also handle the electrical. However I am a novice when it comes to plumbing. It turns out the existing waste drain on my bath tub is 13 inches from the long wall and 8 inches from the drain wall. The new drain on the whirlpool will have to be 17 7/8 inches from the long wall and 12 inches from the drain wall. My question is can I purchase a new waste-and-overflow unite which can be adjusted to mate to the existing drain trap in the floor. I have not removed the tub yet to take a look but I need to know if I need to move the floor drain trap and in that case I will need to call a plumber. If I can purchase an adjustable waste-and overflow unite that is adjustable to over come this 4 inch by 5 7/8 inch change in drain location on the whirlpool waste drain I can complete the job myself without the added expense of calling a plumber in. Is this type of adjustable waste-and-overflow unite available; or can I order a PVC version that I can add pipe to adjust the length to fit the drain?
    labman Posts: 10,580, Reputation: 551
    Uber Member

Feb 19, 2005, 06:37 AM