Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Shadowhunter123 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Feb 18, 2014, 08:46 AM
    Rules for termination
    Ok so what happened was

I was a manager on shift in a fast food place.
    One of my staff who is notoriously lazy didn't show up on time for his shift so I called in a replacement.

The staff member showed up late with incorrect uniform and expected to be able to work.

When I told him to go home as his clothes were wrong and he was late, he became aggressive and rude. He started threatening me and swearing at me in front of staff and customers and threatened to kill me. I then told him he was fired and to get out.

His mum then rang up and said its against the law to sack him for those reasons and said she's going to complain about me and get me fired

My question is, does she have a leg to stand on? I'm pretty sure his actions warranted a termination of employment.
    ebaines Posts: 12,131, Reputation: 1307
    Expert

Feb 18, 2014, 08:49 AM
    In what country did this occur? You used the word "mum" so I'm guessing UK or perhaps Australia?
    smoothy Posts: 25,492, Reputation: 2853
    Uber Member

Feb 18, 2014, 08:51 AM
    Let her try... she doesn't have a leg to stand on.

Baby boy is an AT-WILL employee (Assuming the USA)... meaning he is there at your will as well as their own. You don't NEED a reason to fire him.

Make sure you document everything that happened... That is insubordination as well as workplace violence... and those are BOTH significantly more serious than wearing the wrong clothes. Make sure you superiours in corporate (or your bosses or the owners) are aware of THAT behaviour.

Depending on how long ago this was... it might be wise to file a report with the police about the threats...
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Feb 18, 2014, 10:32 AM