Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    joshfella Posts: 10, Reputation: 2

Feb 4, 2014, 01:38 AM
    FICA not withheld
    I only had 7 months working with my employer in internship, I did not see they withheld any FICA taxes in W-2 for the last year (I don't remember if I sign W-9 or W-8BEN with them when I start because the HR had a copy of my new passport but did not ask how many years I was in the US at all, and I did not realize how tax works with the residency matter then).

So I think it could be their mistake about the FICA on my case and send them an email after Jan 31st (I only learned more about all of these by now), I did not file for any tax return for 2013 yet. I don't know how it will turn out, but since they are going to be my future employer and if they insist me to pay on my portion, I think I may compromise (about $2000 or so) to stay on the good term with them. But problem is I'm still a student and have no extra $2000 (or even until my first pay check) to pay for this yet and I need my future job. When I did a draft return on Turbotax without the FICA taxes, it said I got $3000 or so (included American Opportunity Credit) in return.

Any advise for my case? If I agree to pay for my FICA portion, can it be deducted from the $3000 return I may get?
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Feb 4, 2014, 10:09 AM
    Are you an international student? If so, what is your visa status?
    joshfella Posts: 10, Reputation: 2

Feb 4, 2014, 10:13 AM
    Hi AtlantaTaxExpert,I'm in my F-1 for more than 5 years now.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Feb 4, 2014, 12:27 PM
    Josh,

It is the responsibility of the employer to clarify your visa status, so the IRS will NOT hold you responsible for the error that occurred here.

That said, you DO have a moral and ethical responsibility to pay YOUR share of the FICA taxes that were not withheld.