Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    annecharlotte19 Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Jan 31, 2014, 05:42 PM
    H1N versus OPT
    I will be graduating with a masters in the spring of 2014. I have full time employment starting after Labour Day 2014. I am trying to decide whether to use up OPT at the beginning or whether get my prospective employer to petition for an H1N visa this April 2014.

What things should I consider? For example... I am wondering about the following and other matters I may not have thought of...

What income taxes will be saved if I opt for OPT = I am a Canadian resident.

If I want to work for my university AND for my prospective employer long term, can I do so with an H1N visa? I think I can with OPT, as long as my OPT is not used up?

I will graduate in May 2014. Can I go home to Canada post graduation? Does it depend on whether I will be working under OPT or H1N? I have read I cannot return home while H1N is pending? When is an H1N not pending - i.e. is that on Oct 1 or after the H1N has been approved?

Thanks so much for any input.!
    Very confusing stuff. I have used some OPT but not all and I am graduating in a STEM area.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Jan 31, 2014, 06:26 PM
    ANY work visa (H-1, H-1B, H-1N, L-1) requires you to work for ONE and only ONE employer.

I cannot answer whether you can return to Canada while waiting for the H-1N; that's a question for an immigration attorney.

If you stay on OPT, you are EXEMPT from FICA (Social Security and Medicare) taxes for as long as your F-1 status is under five years.

Feb 1, 2014, 06:47 PM
    Fica and opt
    How long can I be exempt from FICA? I am graduating with my masters in Spring 2014. I started my bachelors in Fall 2009, graduated in Spring 2009. I believe I can be on OPT for 29 months, effective Spring 2009? I am in STEM.