Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    n2life83 Posts: 15, Reputation: 1

Jan 20, 2014, 09:58 AM
    Boyfriend talks about together forever but I'm not sure
    My boyfriend and I have been together for about a year and a half. He's 44 and I'm 30. Both of us are ready for a family and we love each other. But there are problems that I foresee which I would like to prevent. But I'm not sure how to approach them with him.

Information on both of us

Careers: He's an engineer and makes great money, I'm an engineer too who hasn't been working in the business in 2 years so my money isn't great and I'm currently depending on him to make my ends meet.

Family: He left his family (parents, no siblings) in Pennsylvania to pursue that great paying contract job in California- where we met. I'm VERY close to my family (parents, 3 brothers, 1 little niece) in California.

Goals: he is VERY money oriented- He'll move anywhere if the pay is great. I'm VERY family oriented- as long as I can afford a decent and respectable life, I don't see a need to live further than 30 miles from my family.

Reality: His California contract job never turned into a permanent job and he was let go. In pursuit of the next great paying job he found one in Colorado. I quit my lousy paying job and went with him. In this economy, Colorado has more opportunities for engineers of my specialty so my aim is to get back into a good paying engineering job that can segue into an engineering job in California. I also came with him because I love him and would like to create a family with him.