Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    aditya kapoor Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Nov 8, 2013, 01:35 PM
    How to reduce loneliness?
    I'm 20 year old boy. I'm a eng 3rd year student. In holidays I go home and do not go out whole day. I do not contact my school friends. I do not go out for anything. I spent all my time in home. I want to wonder but could not because of loneliness. What should I do?
    dontknownuthin Posts: 2,910, Reputation: 751
    Ultra Member

Nov 8, 2013, 01:53 PM
    I recommend that you think of what others need. I have noticed in my own life that when I help other people, I forget about feeling badly for myself. So, consider all the ways you can be of service. It is also a great way to make connections with others - offering to help them. Look into opportunities to volunteer in your community.

I also recommend that you plan social activities and invite other people to attend. People with friends are not better people or more interesting or appealing people, they are people who make an effort to reach out to others and extend invitations. Look into what is going on of interest in your community, think of who you know who might enjoy attending those events, call them and ask if they'd like to join you.

If you are in a situation where you do not know people to invite to things, sign up on your own for group activities. Whether you join a recreational sport team, a club, a political organization or whatever interests you, sign up and get involved and soon, you will know others who share your interests.

Finally, stop describing yourself as a "boy". At 20 years of age you are a grown man. If you think of yourself as a man, an adult, you may find it more natural to take charge of your life and stop waiting for it to change on its own.