Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Niko2636463 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Nov 4, 2013, 12:13 AM
    Would work as a paramedic or a EMT count as experience in the emergency department
    I want to be an emegrency nurse, but I have no prior experience in the medical field. I can't apply for any jobs or internships because they all require a few years of experience. I live on my own and I can't afford to just making a living on my full-time job at the moment, go to college and hope to find a internship before I graduate. I have completed all my electives and pre-requested courses for the nursing. I'm just finishing up my nursing classes now. I have considered becoming an emt just for a temporary time because I want to be them nurse.
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

Nov 4, 2013, 12:28 AM
    I see that nursing jobs have dropped way off in the US. But the advice on one forum I looked at says don't apply to hospitals; there are other places that need nurses, and will hire new grads.
    They consider applying to 20 places much too low. Looks like a lot of work, sorry.

An EMT requires a different course, and the training takes a few months. Where I live, all the EMTs are volunteers. If you can't get a nursing job where you are, I am not so sure you will find a paying EMT job after you are certified.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

I want to be a paramedic/EMT [ 2 Answers ]

I'm 16, female. I was at the hospital the other day and I saw these paramedics walk by and right there I knew I wanted to be a paramedic/EMT. I live in Texas, is there anything I can do to get started now? What are the classes like? How much do they make? I'm going to a community college next year.

Minimum distance between emt conduit for data and emt conduit for power [ 1 Answers ]