Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    xviiinfinitum Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Sep 21, 2013, 09:00 AM
    Theft Under $5,000 - First Offence, What Will Happen?
    I have been caught stealing roughly $250 worth of stuff from Sephora. I live in Toronto, Ontario.

Spoked to the police, they said most likely ill get a "slap on the wrist" when I go to court. Also they said I will have to go down to the police station and get fingerprinted and my photo taken. It is a stupid, stupid decision and it is my first time stealing. I can truly say this is a harsh lesson and I plan to never, ever do this again.

I just found out about diversion, will I be eligible for it? I know it was a lot of money.

I definitely plan on Legal Aid, but do I need a lawyer or consultation with a lawyer?

I'm a business student so I am very worried about being able to find a job or going to the States. What will happen to me ?
    AK lawyer Posts: 12,592, Reputation: 977
    Expert

Sep 21, 2013, 12:44 PM
    I definitely plan on Legal Aid, but do I need a lawyer or consultation with a lawyer?
    Huh? Legal Aid is lawyers (Unless Canada is stranger than I thought.)

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

First time offence for theft under $5000. I'm over 18, what will happen now? [ 0 Answers ]

A couple days ago I was caught shoplifting. I took a pair of $25 shades at the Bay. I'm in Manitoba. I am very ashamed and will never do this type of thing again. Anyway I was outside waiting at a bus stop when a man in plain clothes grabbed me by the arm. Being in downtown (where most crimes...

First offence shoplifting from walmart... Over 18... What will happen? [ 5 Answers ]