Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    AJean16 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Sep 2, 2013, 08:35 AM
    Crown or Extract
    I am 24 years old and have a back lower molar that is cracked. My dentist said I need a root canal and that I shoul have a crown put in afterwards. However my dental insurance is not great and I am a struggling student who can barely pay my bills. So I am not sure I have the funds for a crown. My father was in the same boat as me recently and he just had his molar pulled. I'm not sure on how I should proceed.
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Sep 2, 2013, 08:53 AM
    If it is a back molar you don't have any reason to have a crown for cosmetic reasons. No one is going to notice a back tooth missing. You are looking at great expense for a root canal plus a crown. You will have no problem later in Iife being without this tooth. Good luck with your decision.
    smearcase Posts: 2,392, Reputation: 316
    Ultra Member

Sep 2, 2013, 11:21 AM
    I am not a dentist but dentists have told me that a missing lower molar can cause the tooth above it to loosen and eventually fall out. Discuss with your dentist before making a decision.
    Expert

Sep 2, 2013, 11:36 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by smearcase View Post
    I am not a dentist but dentists have told me that a missing lower molar can cause the tooth above it to loosen and eventually fall out. Discuss with your dentist before making a decision.
    Actually, I would not have given this advice if I had not worked for an endodontist for a few years, and from personal experience of NOT having any issues with my upper teeth after having a back molar removed.

Of course it all depends on how well you care for your teeth throughout your adult life.

I hope the OP has a completely honest dentist!
    smearcase Posts: 2,392, Reputation: 316
    Ultra Member

Sep 2, 2013, 12:56 PM
    This is the only reference I could find that discusses the issue: