Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    sexiibabii Posts: 37, Reputation: 2

Mar 26, 2007, 10:56 AM
    is ged a good idea?
    I'm a freshman and I guess I don't do good in school... well I definitely don't do goodthis quarter I got n u u n u u f and last quarter I got a 57 average and only passed one class( the way my school works is the firrst quarter of every term you get alpha grades like S G E U or N) and my mom bought me 2 ged books and I have been practicing she said I can take it if I def no I can pass it but I don't no if I will regret leaving high school after I do.. =/
    :confused:
    shygrneyzs Posts: 5,017, Reputation: 936
    Uber Member

Mar 26, 2007, 11:43 AM
    If you cannot apply yourself now in high school, where there is tutoring available and extra time for study - where and how are you going to apply yourself in any later life?

Yes, you can drop out of high school, I believe you have to be 16 in order to drop out, but your state may have a different law regarding that. Just because you do drop out, do not think you can come back the same year and go for a GED. It is not that simple.

If you drop out now, what can you possibly think of for future employement, until you would obtain your GED, should you pass the GED test?

Why don't you go and talk to your school's guidance counselor and talk to him or her about your problems. That person can direct you to tutoring, after school help, etc. Also that person can best advise you to what happens when you drop out.

Mar 26, 2007, 12:06 PM
    A lot of people said that to me " if i can't pass my freshman year how do i expect to pass the ged" but its worth a try although I don't want to actually drop out... its confusing my mom always tells I'm really smart she doesn't understand why I don't do good inschool I don't know..
    TheSavage Posts: 564, Reputation: 96

Mar 26, 2007, 02:18 PM
    What-- you again? [teasing]