Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ASEuromail Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jul 29, 2013, 04:00 PM
    How to legalize my wife
    Hi.
    I am a permanent resident of the United States.
    In 2011 I have married a woman who was here on a "work and travel" visa.
    She has overstayed her visa now, we also had a child together, the child was born here in the USA.
    I have applied for citizenship so I can legalize my wife, however, I was told by the USCIS representative over the phone that It will throw a red flag on my citizenship application that I am married to an undocumented alien, and that my wife cannot get her legal status anyway because she overstayed her visa by 280 days.
    Are there any ways out of this mess?
    What shall my steps be besides hoping and waiting for the immigration reform...
    I have an infopass appointment at the local USCIS office, to speak with someone else, in person, but not sure if that will be helpful or not...
    smoothy Posts: 25,492, Reputation: 2853
    Uber Member

Jul 29, 2013, 04:54 PM
    She overstayed... thats an automatic 10 year ban... she didn't respect our laws...

Nothing else matters... advise you go to her home country... sorry to be so blunt... but there are lines of people who are willing to follow the rules and only so many available chances every year. if they get her... she will be detained... for a period before deportation... if she leaves on her own... it at least looks a little better on her file.
    lawanwadee Posts: 3,653, Reputation: 124
    Immigration Expert

Jul 30, 2013, 08:56 AM
    Wait until you become naturalized, then petition immigrant visa for your wife. This will trigger a 10 years bar but still doable. Consult experienced immigration attorney.
    newacct Posts: 321, Reputation: 21

Jul 30, 2013, 01:57 PM
    That person is completely wrong about that second part and doesn't know what they're talking about.