Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Elvisrosas Posts: 31, Reputation: 4

Jul 22, 2013, 09:51 PM
    Moving out?
    I am 19 years old and I am thinking of moving out. I make 900 a month and the apartment I am looking at is 635 a month. The reason I want to move out is because at my parents they have rules that I just find really annoying and they get pissed when I always come home late. Plus I have college and I never concentrate at home when I do my homework. Can I have some advice or some experiences from people or you guys opinion
    N0help4u Posts: 19,823, Reputation: 2035
    Uber Member

Jul 22, 2013, 09:57 PM
    That's less than 300. For your utilities, food and spend money. Do you have money saved up for security deposit and to get the utilities turned on? Do you have to spend money on transportation bus or car?
    teacherjenn4 Posts: 4,005, Reputation: 468
    Education Expert

Jul 22, 2013, 10:25 PM
    Have you looked into on-campus student housing? You need money for insurance, food, clothing, etc. besides rent. How about finding a roommate?
    Alty Posts: 28,317, Reputation: 5972
    Pets Expert

Jul 22, 2013, 10:43 PM
    I was always told that the basic rule when buying or renting, is to spend 40% of your income on expenses (that includes rent/mortgage, utilities, and other loans or bills). You're spending almost double that only on rent.

How will you survive on$265 a month? Who pays for college? Who will pay for your utilities, food, doctors bills, transportation, etc. etc?

I would advise that you sit down and make a list of all your monthly expenses, including rent, food, everything. Budget to see if you can afford to live on your own. I have to say, based one what you posted, I don't know how you'd survive on what you're making now, and being on your own means paying on your own. If you don't want to obey mom and dads rules, then you shouldn't be taking mom and dads money.
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert