Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    straws Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Jun 24, 2013, 01:11 AM
    Power conversion help! Battery replacement
    Scenario:
    I recently acquired a small, indoor R/C Helicopter that requires 6 AA batteries to operate the controller. There's also a small 3.7v receptacle that extends from the controller to charge the helicopter.

Problem:
    As you can imagine, flying a few minutes or even a few hours with this can be taxing on the batteries as it is being used to power and charge two objects.

Idea:
    I figured it'd be a neat idea to create some rig that allows me to convert a wall plug directly into the controller so that I can pretty much have as much juice without the cost of batteries.

What I need help with:
    I have little experience on doing much of this, though I have done a bit of research. I could use someone's expertise.

1 AA battery = 1.5V DC at anywhere ranging 400-2400mA
    Logic dictates 6 batteries ~ 9V DC ranging 400-2400mA

1. I recently hunted around for a DC wall adapter that is 9V DC 1800mA, I'm assuming this is OK to use right?

Also, I read on this other question asked that piquéd my interest in something - https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/electrical-engineering/battery-power-751109.html

2. It is true that a controller might not even need a 9V adapter. Would a 5V wall adapter be OK or would you imagine it be a little too underpowering? The next easily available wall plug would be 12V - that sounds like it might be a bad idea.

3. If my logic is sound and I may be on the right track, I could possibly use some guidance on putting these things together. I happen to have also acquired some essentials - electronic coils/soldering kit/10 megohm multimeter

Jun 24, 2013, 04:25 AM
    *Update*

So as it turns out, talking to a friend - modern tech probably doesn't require a full juicy 9V at all... I probably would've ended up frying my stuff :P ha!