Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    TaxFill Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Mar 24, 2007, 10:24 AM
    H1(Resident Alien) with spouse(h4)
    Hi,

I am a resident alien for tax purposes and I got married in India last year(2006). But my wife joint my in jan, 2007.

1) Can I still file tax jointly considering my wife as a spouse of resident alien.
    2)I also need W-7 form to get an ITIN for my wife. If I can not file jointly Can I still submit
    W-7 form along with F1040
    Your response is greatly appreciated. Thanks.
    its_me Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Mar 25, 2007, 10:53 AM
    I have a similar question. Although I got married in Feb 2007 and my wife is in US with me now. A friend of mine was in the same situation last year and he did get deductions for his wife. Thanks
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Mar 29, 2007, 10:48 AM
    TaxFill:

YOU can file jointly with your wife; her physical location in 2006 is not relevenet. File the W-7 only if you are filing jointly. The IRS will not issue the ITIN if it is not needed for the tax return.

Its Me:

You CANNOT file jointly with your wife, as you were NOT married on 31 December 2006.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Fill in tax form as resident alien or non resident ? [ 7 Answers ]

I am from China and I held B1 to enter US in Jan.2001 and changed the status B1 to F1 on 12/26/2001. I returned to China and returned to USA in 2005 with a new F1 visa . I had no income in 2001 and 2002 and I failed to fill in the tax return in 2001 and 2002 since I didn't know I needed to do so ...

Tax-Resident Alien or non-resident Alien [ 7 Answers ]