Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    kathmonica Posts: 18, Reputation: 1

May 28, 2013, 03:06 AM
    Help, my daughters have disowned me.
    Hello. I am new to this and am hoping someone can help me PLEASE!

I have 5 grown up girls, sadly due to a very bad marriage which gave me mental health issues they didn't have a very happy childhood all the time. I divorced 28 years ago and the relationship with my girls was great. 11 years ago they all decided that I had been a bad mother and now have nothing to do with me at all. One daughter kept in touch but has now decided that she doesn't want anything to do with me either.

Over the years I have done everything in my power to make up for their poor childhood and always been there for them in every way. I have tried to contact them but they only get in touch when they need me, I don't hear from them on my birthday, Xmas or more hurtfully, Mothers Day.

It is hurting me so much that I can't think of anything else. I would be very grateful if you could help me.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

May 28, 2013, 03:34 AM
    You can not "make up" for bad choices years ago. You can move on and try to be a better person. Without knowing what you did as a mother, but to be honest, if all 5 want nothing to do with you, there had to be a real issue in your life at that time.

You need perhaps counseling, since there is nothing you can do, NOW, that willl make them want a rlationship, they may or may not latter, but that is up to them, you have no control
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

May 28, 2013, 04:23 AM
    We have no clue what THEY are feeling and thinking, and what their reasons are for no contact with you, so we can't really give much advice past what Fr Chuck said.