Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    toddcandi Posts: 38, Reputation: 0

May 14, 2013, 11:32 AM
    Summer vacation is nearing, kid vs work?
    Summer vacation is getting close! The year has flown by, my little fifth grader is going to middle school next year!
    I am new to working full time while we have him. I used to be able to be very flexible during the every other week that we had him, so I was able to be with him and keep him occupied during his previous summer vacations. But this year is different and I am looking for some pointers.

We own an auto repair shop. We are here from 8am to 5pm, but during the busy summer months we are often here till 6pm or later. I don't mind having our boy (11 years of age) at work sometimes, but that long - I don't think that's going to be a good idea. We were going to let him work if he wanted to earn some money this summer, but that's still an awfully long time to hang out here, especially 5 days a week. And there is little to keep him preoccupied here, other than computer games, but I don't want him spending all day on his butt.