Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Warprinse Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Apr 25, 2013, 06:53 PM
    Healing ankle sprain, suddenly can't stand without pain. Do I need a doctor?
    Greetings,

My name is Logan. Thank you for taking time to help me. I'm Male, 29 years old.

Back story:
    Saturday of Easter weekend I sprained my ankle bad. I did not go to the hospital. I've had a few people look at it, two of whom were from a firetruck shortly after the accident.

It took a few days for the bruising to start showing. I have been treating it with Arnicare, keeping my foot elevated, and was icing it the first few days. I got crutches and a walking boot.

Almost all, if not all, of the swelling has gone down. The bruising has faded, but is still there. I can put more weight on my foot, but I still need crutches.

Monday I went back to work. I'm a tutor. I sit most of the time with my foot down.

Three days ago the calf of my hurt leg was a little sore. I gave myself a massage. Each day it seemed to get a little more sore.

Today:
    I can't seem to stand for very long. I stand up, put my weight on my good leg like I have been doing. It's fine for about one minute. Then a dull pain, like a muscle cramp that is just starting, forms in my calf. The pain is a little more than half way up my calf. The pain slowly builds until I start making funny faces, my breathing becomes labored, and I start to get slightly light headed. As soon as I sit and put my foot up the pain goes away.

Should I be concerned? Should I see a doctor? I can't really afford one at the moment.
    odinn7 Posts: 7,691, Reputation: 1547
    Entomology Expert

Apr 25, 2013, 06:56 PM
    So what do you really think? If it was seeming to get better but now it is not, I'm guessing you should probably see a doctor.

Apr 25, 2013, 07:04 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by odinn7 View Post