Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    user28 Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Apr 11, 2013, 12:02 PM
    Thinking about dropping out
    So I am currently in my first semester of graduate school and I'm thinking that I don't want to do this anymore. I never did and honestly I only went because I was under the impression that going would be good for me, it would give me more opportunities or a better salary or something. That's what everyone around me told me and that's what the articles say.

I checked some job listings and it seems like jobs I want don't require a masters but still pay pretty well. I want to program and I want to learn a programming language. I've known for a long time that school isn't my thing and that I'm more of a self learner. And in fact that's exactly what got me my current job. I suffered through college since I know a bachelor's is required nowadays. Going to grad school would basically set me back since I won't have time to play around with things on my own. I'd graduate with no skills. And I just don't really have the time or patience to balance it.

I'm planning to stay and finish this semester but afterwards I don't know if I want to continue. I guess I'm just looking for a really compelling reason to stay in school and stick with it, not someone guilting me into staying or giving me a biased reason about school being good for me and I'm missing out on some "opportunity." Is there any real reason I should deal with being miserable and spend more money on it?
    Oliver2011 Posts: 2,606, Reputation: 746
    Ultra Member

Apr 11, 2013, 12:15 PM
    Depending on what type of degree generally speaking people with graduate degrees do make more money and are in a better place in the market when it is time to get hired.

It doesn't have to be a horrid experience. Aren't there other things in your life you can change that will improve your outlook?
    Alty Posts: 28,317, Reputation: 5972
    Pets Expert

Apr 11, 2013, 12:17 PM