Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Petitepuce Posts: 8, Reputation: 1

Mar 20, 2013, 12:51 PM
    Recently Divorced and Bought a Home - filing tax return
    This may seem like a silly question, but I just want to ask for some advice.

My divorce was finalized in mid-December of 2012 - so I know that I should be filing my returns using a "single" status since the divorce was finalized prior to 12/31.

I also purchased a home about a week after the divorce decree was signed off by the court so I am wondering if my tax return will be a tad complicated for me to file myself.

I'd like to save money and not bother paying to have my tax returns done for me, but since I'm not too experienced in the matter, I was wondering if my recent divorce and home purchase may make things a bit complicated for me on the tax return.

My gut tells me it won't be a difficult tax return since there was no marital home sale or dependent children involved in the divorce. The marital home sale was taken care of in a previous tax year, and my daughter is no longer a dependent at this point.

Since my new home was purchased so late in the year, I'm wondering if there will even be any major tax write-offs to consider at this point. I've never filed a tax return as a home owner - my husband always did that, so I'm not sure what write-offs I will actually be able to claim. I did not pay points on my loan, and didn't make my first mortgage payment until February 2013 so there's probably no mortgage interest to apply to my 2012 tax return - right? I did pay my PMI upfront to avoid monthly PMI payments ontop of the principal and interest payment. I was thinking the PMI write-offs might go away in 2013 with the fiscal cliff. I don't think that happened, but I'm still happy to have less to pay each month at this point.