Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    gatesofshelle Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Mar 14, 2013, 07:50 AM
    My promotion might result in my unemployment. Help!
    I work as an Office Assistant at a church. When I took this position it was a step down from any position, I'd had in years but I figured it would be an easy 9-5 and allow me a stable income and enough free time to focus on developing my business.

I love what I do and as with most Non for Profit organizations, I began to take on more and more in terms of web/graphic design, project and volunteer management and really doing the work to develop some of the outreach programs. Members noticed and I am constantly lauded for the quality of work.

I approached my boss about 6 months ago about changing my title to reflect what it is that I actually do. We bounced ideas around and he agreed that he would do a Memo of Understanding in the upcoming weeks. He then approached me and told me that instead of the new title, he wanted to promote me to a position that was even greater than that. He gave me the new salary range and even announced it internally at staff meetings and in front of volunteers. I was supposed to start in January, then he said June, then he came back and said March after my 2 year anniversary since I would be getting a merit increase at that time. Then about February, I was told that the position would have to be posted and that I would need to interview for the position like everyone else. There are no bylaws or rules within the organization stating that this is standard practice. I understand the organization wanting to seem transparent but this was a promotion into a new position within the organization. I'm not some person off the streets. I've proven that I can handle the role.
    In addition, I have already began the transition into the new position and developing the frame work for it so all the leg work has been done.