Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Mcsap9213 Posts: 99, Reputation: 10

Feb 8, 2013, 08:56 PM
    PA landlord representation at an eviction hearing in District Court
    My friend is a landlord who lives out of state. Can I represent him at the District Justice level for an eviction hearing ?

I already served notice upon the dwelling for him and would like to assist him further. I am a retired police officer and am familiar with testifying in court.

The other party has no lease and is just hanging on after her boyfriend abandoned the residence.

This is in PA.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Feb 9, 2013, 06:33 AM
    Get a letter from your friend assigning you to represent him in the case. That should be sufficient.
    AK lawyer Posts: 12,592, Reputation: 977
    Expert

Feb 9, 2013, 07:01 AM
    No, unless Pennsylvania has some very unusual laws governing the practice of law, retired peace officers are not allowed to represent others in court. Now, if you know about the circumstances, you might make a good witness in the matter, but your friend will have to ask about possibly attending by telephone. That is commonly allowed by most courts.

Feb 9, 2013, 07:18 AM
    Can't the owner appoint the OP as his agent for the property which would allow him to appear on his behalf? Housing courts generally do not require attorney representation (much like small claims).

I don't know of anything about being a retired police officer that would disqualify the OP from acting as the owner's agent.
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Feb 10, 2013, 09:36 AM
    I'm in NY and I would question whether it is appropriate for the supposedly disinterested person who served the papers to also "represent" the person landlord in Court.

Suddenly the server is not a disinterested party.

And the person doing the "representing" is not an Attorney.