Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Oakley4432 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Feb 5, 2013, 03:01 PM
    Should I wait for a raise, or find a new job?
    I work as a maintenance man at a hotel in my town. I have been there for 6 months. I am certified in industrial maintenance. I recently had my bi-annual performance evaluation and it was perfect! I realize this career averages 14-18 dollars an hour. I have exceeded my companys standards and even go a little further. I have never been late or called in sick. (honestly I have just been an all around exemplary employee). I am currently at $9.50 an hour. My General Manager said I deserve at least $12. Any advise? Should I take my certification/knowledge elsewhere?
    hkstroud Posts: 11,929, Reputation: 899
    Home Improvement & Construction Expert

Feb 5, 2013, 03:10 PM
    Is there anybody else in town that is willing to give you $12 per hour with the same benefits, equivalent working environment and employment reliability?

Feb 5, 2013, 03:16 PM
    Yes, Yes and Yes. To clarify, I don't have any benefits at my current location. In terms of employment reliability, its hard to say. And the working environment is exceptional at my current location. Literally the only issue I have with the place is that locally the going rate is at least $14/hr.
    My GM agrees with me, but she has made it clear she cannot do anything about it other than refer a raise.
    Who would be the next person higher up to speak with?
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

Feb 5, 2013, 03:23 PM
    'Should I wait for a raise, or find a new job?'
    Neither. You should tell them that you deserve a raise - with a positive attitude. It takes finesse to use just the right amount of good will, lack of apology or hesitation, positive attitude, and appreciation.
    You can even lie outright - "A relative of mine in (name of city) knows a company looking for someone like me and the person leaving makes 16."