Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    paolagarciagodo Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Jan 31, 2013, 07:36 PM
    Can my employer threaten me with termination
    I work at a cricket wireless store, I've been working here for 2 years, my employer threaten me with termination if the sign sppiner doesn't sand on the right side of the sidewalk, I've talked to the sign sppiner and he know where he is supposed to be. I work by myself all day and Its really hard to see every movemetn the sign guy does, I stay busy taking payments and helping customers and the side walk is far form the front door, so I can't leave the store to check on him! Today my employer told me he will fire me if the sign guy stands on the wrong side of the side walk again...
    So can he fire me for something I don't have control off and something that I didn't do, if the sign guy knows where he is supposed to be, should my employer fire him and not me? Is it legar or right for him to do that?
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Jan 31, 2013, 07:39 PM
    Generally, unless you have a contract, you can be terminated for no reason at all. Have you explained to your boss that you can't monitor the sign guy and service HIS customers as well.

Jan 31, 2013, 07:43 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by ScottGem View Post
    Generally, unless you have a contract, you can be terminated for no reason at all. Have you explained to your boss that you can't monitor the sign guy and service HIS customers as well.
    Yes I have, I didn't know I could be terminated for no reason at all, and I thought threating an employee with termination was ilegal!
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Jan 31, 2013, 07:46 PM
    Any question on law needs to include your general area as laws vary by area. But no I don't believe its illegal to threaten.

Jan 31, 2013, 07:52 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by ScottGem View Post