Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    BillyF12 Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Jan 17, 2013, 11:31 PM
    Residency termination statement with 1040
    Hello, I am wondering if someone might be able to advise on the following issue:
    2012 is a dual status year for me, non-resident at the end of the year. However, I I understand that I can apply the default date for residency termination of 12/31/2012, and thereby file for the whole year as a resident, without the convolution of the dual status return. Thus, I am planning to file 1040 only (jointly with my US spouse), as it does not make a difference tax wise even if I am a resident for the full year and it is a lot easier and familiar process!

It is also my understanding that I still ought to file a residency termination statement referencing 12/31/12 as my termination date, even if I am not filing dual status and claiming an early termination date.

My questions relate to the content of this statement when it is attached to a 1040 and I am a resident for the whole year.

1) Pub 519 asks me to specify the year to which the statement is applicable. I believe it to be 2012 as the termination date is the last day of that year, even though what I am effectively trying to say is that I will be a nonresident from 1/1/13 (i.e the 2013 year) on. Is this correct?

2) I believe that even though I am using the default termination date, I still ought to meet Publication 519's requirement for the statement to show the actual date my LPR status was rescinded (ie what would otherwise have been my early termination date), and also include a copy of my finalised I-407.

To avoid confusion though, perhaps I should follow this with a clarification that I am not requesting early termination, but applying the default date, and only showing the LPR info to verify that my residency has terminated for immigration purposes on that date, and thus, can be terminated for tax purposes, on 12/31/12. Is this the appropriate approach?