Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    onegame Posts: 52, Reputation: 1

Dec 23, 2012, 04:54 AM
    English Literature
    Could the term "English literature" refer to ANY literature written in the English language, whether it be American or Australian, or is it specific for the literature of England?
    Curlyben Posts: 18,514, Reputation: 1860
    BossMan

Dec 23, 2012, 07:34 AM
    English Literature is normally used to refer to the Classics of the English language, so Shakespear etc..
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Dec 23, 2012, 12:21 PM
    When I earned my bachelor's degree, my minor was in American and English Literature. I know there is French literature and Italian literature and Spanish literature and Greek literature -- classics unique to a country and written by authors from that country. Thus American lit comprises classics (novels, plays, poems) written by Americans such as Dos Passos and Steinbeck and Poe and Twain and Cooper and Irving and Buck and O'Neill and inson and Whitman and on and on for pages. English literature is made up in the same way of classics--by Shakespeare (the prime one!) and Austen and the Bronte sisters and Chaucer and Byron and Wordsworth and Shelley and Thackeray and D!ckens (of course!) and Stoker and on and on for many pages. A purist would separate classics by country and even region.

On the other hand, Wikipedia (like Curlyben) looks at your question more broadly and says this: