Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    barrygold Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Dec 19, 2012, 09:07 AM
    Help to calculate torque needed
    Hi, I am new to this!

I am struggling to answer the following:

What size ( torque etc. ) 6 volt dc. Planetary gear motor would I need to lift
    A 3kg. Load vertically.
    I plan to couple the gear motor directly to a 12mm dia. Steel acme lead screw
    With a 3mm pitch.
    The load I will attach to a brass lead screw nut.
    A stainless steel guide will stop the nut rotating and so give it vertical travel.

Any better guesses out there than mine ?

Thanks all.
    ebaines Posts: 12,131, Reputation: 1307
    Expert

Dec 19, 2012, 09:53 AM
    It all depends on how quickly you want to be able to raise the load, ir stated another way - the speed of the motor and the gear arrangement. The power required equals the load (weight of the object you're lifting in newtons) times the velocity with which you want to raise it in meters/second. So if you're willing to use a gear set to convert the high speed RPM of the motor to a low speed RPM lifting gear, in theory you could get away with a very small motor. But using the mechasim that you describe with a simple 6mm radius gear you have:

Torque = 3Kg x 9.8 m/s^2 x 0.006m = 0.176 N-m
    Power = Torque x radial velocity = Torque x RPM x (2 pi/60) = 0.018 x RPM watts

Form this if you know the RPM of the motor you can calculate power it must produce in watts.

Dec 20, 2012, 03:56 AM
    Hi,
    Thanks for your kind reply.
    That has moved me a long way on.
    I need to lift the 3 KG.load 150 MM. In 10 seconds
    ebaines Posts: 12,131, Reputation: 1307
    Expert

Dec 20, 2012, 06:57 AM
    Power required = F x V = 3 Kg x 9.8m/s^2 x 0.015m/s = 0.44 watts. You should round up a bit for a safety factor to account for friction etc.