Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    chickenbake Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 17, 2005, 11:00 PM
    Real big problem, any help would be great!
    Hi, I gave my parents my W2s every year since I started working in 2000. They told me they would file my taxes for me... they did not. Also they do not have any of my W2s. So... I need to file taxes soon and I need to know the easiest way I can file returns late. So I have had all my taxes deducted from my paychecks and have been reported to the IRS but I haven't personally filed ever. I have been a student all along but I don't know exactly what that changes, also my Dad declares me as a dependent and don't know if that changes anything either. I made about $2000 each year except one year where I made a little over 8000. PLEASE HELP A POOR COLLEGE STUDENT FILE 1000 YEARS OF TAXES! :(
    Sincerely,

Starving Artist Patrick :eek:
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Mar 1, 2005, 08:57 AM
    Patrick:

I noticed no one has answered your post. I am new to this forum (just joined yesterday).

Except for the year when you made $8,000, you owe no federal income taxes, even with your father claiming you as a dependent. Your standard deduction covered your tax liability. The same circumstance probably applies for your state taxes as well.

Now, if no money was withheld from your paycheck in the years you made $2,000 or less, than you have no requirement to file a tax return! If money was withheld, you should file a tax return in order to get the refund (both state and federal). It's too late for the 2000 calendar year to get a refund (after three years, any refund is forfeited), but if you file by April 15th, 2005, you can still get your refund from Calendar year 2001.