Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Mom2Feebs Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 14, 2007, 07:39 PM
    Maytag Performa Dryer, Hot But Not Drying
    We have a 10 year old Maytag Performa washer & dryer set. A few weeks ago, we noticed that upon starting the dryer, it made a horrible racket and then went back to normal within a few seconds. It gets hot, but the clothes are not really dry, even after a 70 minute cycle.

Is this the fan, possibly? Do I need a pro for this?

Thanks very much for your time.
    grammadidi Posts: 1,182, Reputation: 468
    Ultra Member

Mar 14, 2007, 10:31 PM
    I'm not a dryer expert, but perhaps the belt is broken and the drum may not be spinning. If so, it could be a fire hazard, so sounds like you need a repairman unless you know how to replace a belt. I wouldn't use it until you have it repaired.

Didi
    Mom2Feebs Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 15, 2007, 07:33 AM
    Thanks for responding--the drum is moving, which is why this is kind of odd.
    grammadidi Posts: 1,182, Reputation: 468
    Ultra Member

Mar 15, 2007, 11:17 AM
    Sorry I couldn't help. This is more than odd... if the heat is on and the drum is turning you would think the clothing would dry!

Hopefully someone more knowledgeable will respond. Good luck!

Didi
    sjethro00 Posts: 58, Reputation: 5

Mar 15, 2007, 03:09 PM
    The easiest thing you could do is, unplug the dryer, and remove the back casing (usually 10 screws or so). Where the Dryer hose goes into, fish around in there and make sure if free of debris and lint. To do a more detailed cleaning, you may have to remove another casing depending upon your model.

Its recommended to do this every couple years, or if its used often, maybe every 1- 1 1/2 years.

You might also check the vent system/hose you have in place, and also make sure they are free of debris and lint.