Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    skydancer Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 14, 2007, 02:31 PM
    Toshiba Satellite M105-S322 Bios Password
    Older woman retired and living in Mexico. 4.5 months ago, during a visit to the US I bought a Toshiba Satellite M105-S322 laptop for my husband. Did not take the time to go out and search for updates. He uses it for hours every day. Last week he turned it on and got a checksum error. There were options to go into settings or ignore and continue. He chose to continue. The next time he turned on the notebook it asked for a bios password. We have never set one.

I called Toshiba and they said this issue is not covered under warranty and our only option is to send the notebook to an authorized repair center in the US. Shipping a computer to/from Mexico is not an option.

In my former lifetime I worked in IT shops and have reset the bios on countless desktops. I have worked on notebooks but not this model and have been hesitant to take it apart. I removed a few screws and peeked around but my skills are dated. I decided it would be better to ask for help.

I read that there is a known bios password issue with the version of bios I suspect is on this notebook. Toshiba still says they won't assist me and even if it was covered by warranty, they won't tell a user how to reset the bios over the phone (grrrr).

I got all excited when I found a solution building a plug for the parallel port but after I found a parallel cable and my old soldering iron I realized this notebook doesn't have a parallel port.

I found a solution by creating a specialized boot diskette but this laptop doesn't have a diskette drive and if my memory serves me correctly, the bios password screen will appear before the drives are found, hence a boot diskette or CD wouldn't help.