Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    deepankr Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Mar 13, 2007, 05:13 PM
    h1b attorney fees
    Hi

Do you guys know attorneys who charge reasonable fees for H1b processing. Please also mention what are the reasonable charges? Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am a new member of this forum, can you please reply at [email protected]

Thanks a lot

Deepankar
    SusanPai Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Jan 14, 2009, 02:48 PM
    Generally speaking, reputable attorneys charge between $1000 and $2000 as a fee for completing the H-1B visa application and follow-up. You can fill out the paperwork yourself or hire a non-attorney but I don't recommend it and not just because I'm an attorney . So many changes occur in the law and at the service centers that it is difficult even for attorneys to keep up with the information. I personally spend at least three to four hours a day reading about any changes or trends that might affect my clients and engaging in discussions with colleagues all over the U.S. about the same. Much of the material I read and use is available only through professional portals like Westlaw and AilaLink. And, of course attorneys attend numerous continuing legal education courses. Finally, attorney members of AILA have "AILA attorney access" to the USCIS both to obtain relevant information and if a mistake has been made in the processing of the application. I can't tell you how many times I've been hired after an individual has filed his or her own H-1B application only to have it disappear somewhere at USCIS with no answer or explanation. Other times, I have been called in to address Requests for Further Evidence (RFE's) because of mistakes that were made in the H-1B. Finally, with the H-1B applications vastly outnumbering the available H-1B slots, it is absolutely imperative that the H-1B be filled out perfectly. With the H-1B Lottery in place, an incorrectly filled out and then rejected H-1B application will not have ev