Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    pvk63 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 13, 2007, 06:58 AM
    Condo kitchen sink vent
    Hello there,

I am a designer and working on remodeling a condominium in a three-story building. My clients want to eliminate a wall in their kitchen, but in that wall there is the vent stack for the kitchen sink and dishwasher – theirs and of the ones below (the condominium is on the third floor). According to my clients somebody in the building has eliminated the wall without a problem but the general contractor that is involved in the project wants to preserve a portion of the wall to accommodate the vent pipe. Is it possible to use Air Admittance Valve in that situation?
    Thank you in advance for your help and have a great day.
    Pvk63
    speedball1 Posts: 29,301, Reputation: 1939
    Eternal Plumber

Mar 13, 2007, 07:11 AM
    Since the kitchen sink connects to the stack will it be moved? If so how far away from the stacK will it be? Is this the same stack that has been moved below and if so was it offset to where? If local codes permit where would you install a AAV and where w3ould you drain the sink. We just don't have enough details to answer your question. Regards, Tom
    pvk63 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 13, 2007, 08:03 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by pvk63
    Hello there,

I am a designer and working on remodeling a condominium in a three-story building. My clients want to eliminate a wall in their kitchen, but in that wall there is the vent stack for the kitchen sink and dishwasher – theirs and of the ones below (the condominium is on the third floor). According to my clients somebody in the building has eliminated the wall without a problem but the general contractor that is involved in the project wants to preserve a portion of the wall to accommodate the vent pipe. Is it possible to use Air Admittance Valve in that situation?
    Thank you in advance for your help and have a great day.
    Pvk63