Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Wannabecountry Posts: 36, Reputation: 3

Nov 7, 2012, 09:47 PM
    I hate my job!!
    O.k. So here's the deal I am 18 and about two months ago my cousin helped me get this retail job. I have never worked retail before but jumped at the chance for some extra cash ;) now two months in I really hate it there the other employees are nasty to me the managers are terrible and they don't let me do any of the things we originally agreed on. I am moving next year and don't really need the money right now ( I'm still living with my parents ) I have another part time job that doesn't pay as well but it's more than I need right now. If I quit I'm afraid my cousin will get in trouble and I really don't want that. What should do?
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Nov 7, 2012, 09:55 PM
    Talk to your supervisor and tell him/her this job and you don't fit together. Christmas hiring is going on now, so they will easily find a replacement.

Nov 7, 2012, 09:56 PM
    Yeah but what about my cousin he's worked there for a long time and he vouched for me. I don't want to get him in trouble
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Nov 7, 2012, 10:00 PM
    You won't. Your working there and your performance have nothing to do with him. He works there and continues to work there on his own merit.

Nov 7, 2012, 10:03 PM
    Thanks. I don't know if I will be able to do it but I appreciate your advice :)
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Nov 7, 2012, 10:05 PM
    Go with the "fit" idea -- "this job and I don't fit."

Nov 7, 2012, 10:21 PM
    Any ideas for getting my mom to accept this she really doesn't want me to quit she thinks its stupid to get a job and quit two months later. But I don't think she understands how unhappy I am
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Nov 7, 2012, 10:24 PM
    You are 18 and an adult. You can quit without her okay. Tell her about the poor fit and never do retail again.

What is your other job?