Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    MOHREJECT Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Oct 22, 2012, 07:51 PM
    BFF rescinded her MOH offer 3 times...
    To get to her wedding, I flew 6000km across the ocean from Europe where I am a very poor grad student and then drove a further 14 hours round trip including a border crossing to get to her wedding. Going to her wedding cost me my only trip home for the next 18 months, and it was a fly in and fly out affair that took 5 days, during which time the only time I saw my father was when he was driving me back to the airport, I missed Mother's day because I was driving back the whole of the Sunday to make my flight. I didn't see any of my other friends and was 7 hours jet lagged the entire time. I had so little money my mother gave me my 'birthday present' 4 months early so I could afford gas money, and lent me her car because I couldn't afford to rent.

When my friend got engaged, I was ecstatic for her, told her I was there to help as much as I could, would call places and look up info on the Internet for her from Europe if she wanted/needed. I never once asked her if I would be a bridesmaid or MOH. I didn't want to put any pressure on her or make her feel awkward, it was HER special day after all, and I believe a woman's wedding day really should be all about her. I did ask if I could stay at her house for the wedding. She had a 4 bedroom, with a finished attic, I've stayed with her every time I've visited, and with the exception of 2 visits in the 6 years since we graduated college and moved away from each other, it's always been me who has rented a car, and driven the 6-7 hour round trip to see her, so I didn't anticipate a problem. I was coming from so far away and I'm hardly a guest, I've known her for 10 years! We were sorority sisters.