Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    hurtyhorse Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Sep 17, 2012, 02:27 PM
    Lies in work
    I work in education as a university lecturer. My boss is my friend, except, he has asked me to lie for him regarding a disciplinary procedure. He has been accused of serious bullying by an older lady secretary, I was not there. But knowing him as I do, I suspect that he did it as he has done it before and been accused of it many times, even though he has never bullied me. He has now asked me to lie for him, and say I was a witness when I wasn't. My dilemma is, should I report him to senior management, as his position is very responsible, and I am stressed about what to do. Or should I just say no, and shut up ?
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Sep 17, 2012, 02:50 PM
    Say 'Absolutely Not!' and leave it at that.
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

Sep 17, 2012, 03:12 PM
    I agree - just say no.
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Sep 17, 2012, 03:16 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by hurtyhorse View Post
    i work in education as a university lecturer. my boss is my friend, except, he has asked me to lie for him regarding a disciplinary procedure. he has been accused of serious bullying by an older lady secretary, i was not there. but knowing him as i do, i suspect that he did it as he has done it before and been accused of it many times, even though he has never bullied me. he has now asked me to lie for him, and say i was a witness when i wasn't. my dilemma is, should i report him to senior management, as his positon is very responsible, and i am stressed about what to do. or should i just say no, and shut up ?

I am concerned that your immediate answer wasn't, "No, I won't lie for you."

I see no need to report anyone to anyone.

Just say, "No."
    teacherjenn4 Posts: 4,005, Reputation: 468
    Education Expert

Sep 17, 2012, 06:45 PM