Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Keisha25 Posts: 10, Reputation: 1

Sep 12, 2012, 07:21 PM
    25 And finally being independent in a sense.
    So I am about to turn 25 and I have been sheltered my entire life. I am no Einstein but through the years I so happened to be in the final stage of getting my AA . I am an international student and I have been through family issues, medical issues as well as roommate issues which have caused me to not only fall back on my studies but waste a lot of time. But now that I am closer to my 25th birthday it seems like everyone is trying to push me out in the world on my own when I've really had my own share of heartaches and issues which caused a lot of mental blocks and depression which I hid from everyone around me. Being so privileged my friends often say there is absolutely nothing wrong with me and I shouldn't feel depressed but they really don't know how I feel. There are times I feel slow and a failure because it is taking me 3 and a half years to get a 2yr degree... how pathetic ? I know... How do I snap myself out of this depression and prove to everyone that I am indeed a smart person and just working to achieve my goal through all my doubts and issues??
    smoothy Posts: 25,490, Reputation: 2853
    Uber Member

Sep 12, 2012, 07:28 PM
    Having to earn money to pay for bill has a way of taking away the time you have to sit around and feel sorry for yourself. Then you find the less you do it, the less you want to do it.

Some people like having things to complain about... because they want the attention... but when its time to wake up and deal with the real world... they find nobody wants to hear them, and they don't really have time any more to mope around doing it. Some things are self propagating.

Sep 12, 2012, 07:33 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by smoothy View Post