Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Jaimesue Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Sep 10, 2012, 04:32 PM
    Hipaa?
    I work as a MA in a pediatrics office. Tonight I saw one of the parents in the grocery store whose child I gave shots to earlier. She said didn't I just see you at the docotrs office, you gave my kid shots. With out thinking I said oh yeah I did didn't I. was that breaking Hipaa?
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Sep 10, 2012, 05:30 PM
    No, if you saw them at the store and told someone else in the store, they were just in the doctors office and I gave them shots, that is a violation.

In this case, the patient came to you and talked to you about the visit.
    Jaimesue Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Sep 10, 2012, 09:13 PM
    What if my daughter was standing next to me and heard the patients mother say that? My daughter blurted out you have her kid shots! I smiled and tried to change the subject.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Sep 10, 2012, 09:43 PM
    The mother of the child, could have said it over the intercom, posted it on a billboard, If she started the conversation then it is not a violation. I have been introduced to large groups by patients as the medical tech who did this or that for them. Before I did a speech.

With a patients permission you can tell anyone, everything.

You merely answered their direct question. Without adding any further medical info
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

Sep 11, 2012, 04:10 AM
    You can of course give your daughter a little lesson in the importance of medical privacy at your place of work and how it relates to what happened outside of work. But that's another matter entirely.