Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    VioletSkies Posts: 9, Reputation: 2

Aug 22, 2012, 01:09 PM
    How do I get my parents to allow me to quit soccer?
    I have been playing soccer ever since I was four years old, at the time I really enjoyed the sport. But recently, I have been noticing that I don't find much fun in it. As well as not enjoying playing soccer anymore I have found that I have, in a way, lost my skill. The reason for this may be that I don't have an interest in soccer anymore, but I find that it has become a lot tougher and it's something I'm not so sure that I can handle. While I do like a challenge, I don't see the benefit in it for anyone, including my team members.
    I have already asked several times if I could quit before the season started, and made very reasonable and clever points during the debate. I also offered that if they don't want me quitting because of health reasons that they should allow me to join another sport such as cross country or track. All the same, my parents seem to think that I am very good at soccer and they don't want me to "lose what I have".
    Personally, I think that this is more for their benefit than mine. You see, the two of them never played a sport for as long as I have and I feel like they want me to either play to make them feel proud, or to build up my self-esteem. Unfortunately, the season has already started, and I know that it would only waste my parents' money if I quit now. But anybody have some advice for how I could avoid playing next year?
    dontknownuthin Posts: 2,910, Reputation: 751
    Ultra Member

Aug 22, 2012, 01:52 PM
    As a parent I never wanted to encourage my child to quit anything. I was worried that if he quit when things got tough, it would become a bad habit. I was also worried that he would not learn the rewards that come with going through some difficulty and struggle, being willing to be bored, to work through failure and prevail in the end.