Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jrwu98 Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Mar 4, 2007, 01:26 AM
    Are foreign students naturally non-resident aliens?
    I read up a few other questions/answers, but decided to open a new thread instead...
    Like many others, I'm really confused with my alient status!

I originally thought I was a non-resident alien (since I'm still a student), but I am using CINTAX software, and it tells me I qualify for SPT and I'm a resident alien, after I entered all the days that I am in the country each year since 1986 (I was present in this country for a total of 8 different years).

In pub519, it did mention how students with F type visa are "exempt individual" and you shouldn't count the days that you are an exempt indiviual... then I don't qualify for SPT if this applies...

Does that mean, this CINTAX software is not smart enough to calculate those days that I am exempty individual, and I should bypass this section and continue?

At the same time, this document published by my school said:
    2. Aren't all students in F-1 and J-1, which are nonimmigrant statuses, also nonresidents for tax purposes?
    Not necessarily. Your tax status (nonresident or resident) is separate from your immigration status. You may be a resident for tax purposes even though you are still a non-resident for immigration purposes. Generally, if you have been in the U.S less than 5 calendar years, you are a nonresident for tax purposes and will be filing nonresident forms; CINTAX and the tax workshops are designed for you.

---
    Which one is right?? I am soooo confused!! Please help me explain if possible! Thanks so much!
    taxsearcher Posts: 222, Reputation: 8

Mar 4, 2007, 10:50 AM
    If you have held your F1 visa (or previously a J1) for more than 5 years then you start counting your days toward the SPT. It's a little hard to give you advice without more details on your situation.

Mar 4, 2007, 11:48 AM