Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Leroy Brooks Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jul 13, 2012, 04:09 AM
    403b questions
    My wife is thinking about leaving her current job. I am a fulltime student and our bills are starting to catch up to us. We are thinking about using her 403 b money to help us get out of debt no matter the penalty. It will probably help in the long run to make life easier until I finish school. Is it possible for her to get all her 403b money if she leaves her job, for she is attempting to gain employment elsewhere.
    Willowlight Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Jul 13, 2012, 05:02 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by Leroy Brooks View Post
    My wife is thinking about leaving her current job. I am a fulltime student and our bills are starting to catch up to us. We are thinking about using her 403 b money to help us get out of debt no matter the penalty. It will probably help in the long run to make life easier until I finish school. Is it possible for her to get all her 403b money if she leaves her job, for she is attempting to gain employment elsewhere.
    When I took mine out it had to be under a hardship, and there was taxes and penalties applied at approx. 10%. I had the choice to have them take and hold that 10% for me and I did not take it... wishing I had because I know owe and don't have it. They for some reason could only allow me to take out like 95%, I think because I was still employed. Later in the year after I had left the job I emptied the rest. MY understanding is that if you are still employed with the company the only way you can get any money is through a proved hardship and they are going to allow 95% of the money out and they don't have to keep the taxes and penalties but if out of the job for 3 or more months you can empty it but they then do have to hold onto taxes and penalties. Talk with the handlers they can explain the whole thing.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert