Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    aleksandra1 Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Jul 11, 2012, 06:19 AM
    Unable to afford my dream university?
    Hi!

I am in my last year of high school, looking for universities to apply to. A few months ago, I found "my dream school" - it is a private university in Geneva, Switzerland, where the Bachelor in International Relations is taught by some of the best professors and serving ambassadors. I thought I could never make it there, but last week, while I was doing an internship in the United Nations, I visited the school and they basically told me that my chances of getting a place are very good! But now I regret visiting the school, because I fell in love with it and it seems that there is a chance for me to get in, but...

The problem is: price. 23 000 euros/28 000 dollars. My dad says we cannot afford it, we live in Eastern Europe - the top price we can pay for uni is about 10 000 euros. Plus the living costs in Geneva are extremely high... I would apply to public University of Geneva, but they teach in French and my knowledge of that language is insufficient - but the school I am interested in is in English... but too expensive. There is no scholarship from the school, just from the Association of Private Schools of Switzerland, and a possibility of a tuition fee waiver (10% - 40%) - a fellowship, work at that university. Either way, I donīt think that would be enough help... I would need a cheap accommodation (in France, I guess, it is not that far, and it is half-price... ) and some work to support me living there... but I am hopeless. :-(