Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Alty Posts: 28,317, Reputation: 5972
    Pets Expert

Jul 3, 2012, 06:11 PM
    Looking for a new career
    Hi everyone.

I've been thinking about this for a long time now, since I started back to work.

I like working in retail, but frankly the money, although helpful to our family, still doesn't get us ahead. It just keeps us afloat.

I did have a career before I had the kids, but it's not a career I want to go back to. It no longer interests me, and I've been out of the loop so long that even if I did go back, I'd have to take a few courses to update myself.

So, since I'd already have to go back to college, I figure why not take the big leap and find a new career. There's only one problem. I don't know what I want to be when I grow up. ;)

My interests and strengths are;

Very artistic (I'm a painter, a woodworker, scrapbooker. If it's at all artistic, I can do it, or figure out how).

I type 120 wpm. I'm not interested in a secretarial sort of position. Been there, done that, was bored to tears.

I'm a people person, and love working with different people every day.

I'm a quick learner, and work well with others.

I have been told that I'm a good writer. But then, my kids are biased. ;)

I've been leaning towards something in a creative field, like woodworking, cabinet making, writing, or something like that. But I'm not sure how to go about it.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. The long term members all know me very well, so maybe you all can figure out what I should be doing with my life.

For those that don't know me that well, ask questions, I'm more than happy to give you more insight on what makes Alty tick. :)
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Jul 3, 2012, 06:14 PM
    Those are your skills - what are your passions?
    Pets Expert

Jul 3, 2012, 06:20 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by JudyKayTee View Post
    Those are your skills - what are your passions?