Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    hesdogg Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Mar 1, 2007, 03:24 PM
    Starting a painting business
    I have been painting for 6 years now and I was wondering what the steps are that I need to take to make my own business?
    Kstar4u Posts: 255, Reputation: 22

Mar 2, 2007, 10:52 AM
    You will have to get a contractor's license, the requirements to get a license vary from state to state. In California, the following basic stuff is needed:

To qualify to become a licensed contractor you must be 18 years of age or older and
    have the experience and skills necessary to manage the daily activities of a construction
    business, including field supervision. Or, you must be represented by someone
    else with the necessary experience and skills, who serves as your qualifying individual.
    The contractor or other person who will act as the qualifying individual must have had,
    within the ten years immediately before the filing of the application, at least four full
    years of experience at a journey level, or as a foreman, supervisor, or contractor in the
    classification for which he or she is applying. The experience claimed on the application
    must be verifiable and individuals who have knowledge of the experience must
    certify the accuracy of the experience information provided by the applicant (page 3 of
    the application).
    All businesses or individuals who construct or alter any building, highway, road,
    parking facility, railroad, excavation, or other structure in California must be licensed
    by the California Contractors State License Board (CSLB) if the total cost (labor and
    materials) of one or more contracts on the project is $500 or more. Contractors,
    including subcontractors, specialty contractors, and persons engaged in the business of
    home improvement (with the exception of joint ventures and projects involving federal