Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    superstar18 Posts: 380, Reputation: 5

Jun 21, 2012, 09:14 PM
    Job application asks for level of education question
    A job application asks for level of education, what does in progress mean. Does it mean still working on school. Right now I'm in my second year of college.
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Jun 21, 2012, 09:18 PM
    "In progress" means the applicant is still in school working on a diploma or degree. You can add "Anticipated graduation, 2014" (or whenever you will graduate).

Jun 21, 2012, 09:23 PM
    It doesn't say I can say that so should I say some college- no degree then?
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Jun 21, 2012, 09:26 PM
    Does it ask for a grad date?

Jun 21, 2012, 09:27 PM
    No it doesn't
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Jun 21, 2012, 09:28 PM
    What does it say - what does it want?

Jun 21, 2012, 09:33 PM
    It just gives me a list of what I can choose from such as in progress, high school diploma, GED, some college- no degree, associates degree, bachelors, masters,
    Alty Posts: 28,317, Reputation: 5972
    Pets Expert

Jun 21, 2012, 09:37 PM
    Then choose "in progress", since you are in the process of getting a degree.
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Jun 21, 2012, 09:38 PM
    I'd say "some college."

Jun 21, 2012, 09:39 PM
    Ok thanks.
    Pets Expert

Jun 21, 2012, 09:40 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by Wondergirl View Post
    I'd say "some college."
    I hate to disagree WG. But some college implies that the applicant started college, but didn't finish. In progress implies that they're in college, and still working on a degree.
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Jun 21, 2012, 09:43 PM
    I hate to disagree, Alty, but "in progress" doesn't say anything. At least, "some college" indicates he's gotten that far in life and may still be attending. And it doesn't say he has left college.