Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    naumanshakir Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Feb 27, 2007, 08:32 PM
    F-1 student on opt -
    Hello,
    I am a f-1 student currently working on opt, I came to California in April of 2002, last week I got my first paycheck and my employer deducted about 600 in taxes from my pay check, is that right? Here is the breakdown
    Fedral 500
    California state about 100
    And disablility about 17

As an international student from pakistan am I not exempt from the fedral taxes? Please advice how can I reduce the amount of taxes deducted from my pay check, this is the firt time I am paying taxex in us. If they keep deducting the taxes would I get any refund. If yes how much...

Thanks in advance for your help
    TkNeo Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Feb 28, 2007, 09:02 AM
    1. We don't know your salary so can't tell whether the deduction was right or wrong.
    2. Yes, you are supposed to pay federal/state taxes.
    3. The deduction from the paycheck depends on the number of exemptions you have claimed.
    naumanshakir Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Feb 28, 2007, 10:49 AM
    //1. We don't know your salary so can't tell whether the deduction was right or wrong.
    2. Yes, you are supposed to pay federal/state taxes.
    3. The deduction from the paycheck depends on the number of exemptions you have claimed.//

Thanks for your reply

My salary is $3166.00 monthly, and I have no dependent, I was thinking of putting my brother as a depandant as he is not working for the last 4 years. And we live together. And for the number of exemptions I'm a little bit confused what are those... if you can give me some information about that, and also how much money I would be able to get back at the end of the year. Thanks any kind of help would be appreciated.

Numbers
    Momthly salary 3166$
    Fedral tax about 475-500$
    Calfornia state about 100$
    Ca disability about 18$

Once again thanks in advance for answering my wiered questions..