Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ahmadur1234 Posts: 11, Reputation: 1

Jun 16, 2012, 09:12 AM
    I want to cancel the lease but my cousin doesn't want to move
    I am in serious difficult situation.My cousin and me rented an apartment several months ago to live together because my mother was coming.As He was unable to provide enough income documents to rent the apartment, one of my friend volunteered and decided to be in the lease as Main applicant of the house and I am the co-applicant.So, me and my friend in the lease.As me and my cousin living in the apartment, after few weeks we started to have fights.I am a student and he was fighting me during my exam.Few weeks later my mother came and he started to fight my mom too.Then, he brought his family which consists his mother, two children and wife.So, There are 6 people living in a 1 bedroom apartment and fight continues everyday.I decided to cancel the lease and leave the apartment.My friend also will cancel the lease.The problem is my cousin says he will continue to live there even if I cancel the lease. I am worried because my mother is becoming sick.I don't know what to do.

Thanks.
    >personal info removed<
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Jun 16, 2012, 10:06 AM
    ANY question on law needs to include your general locale as laws vary by area.

How long was the lease for? If your cousin is not on the lease, then he is your tenant. You will need to evict him and his family according to local laws. Then you can terminate the lease depending on is terms.

Jun 16, 2012, 10:15 AM
    The lease was for two years.. I mentioned his name in the application when I was applying for the apartment.So, the landlord knew from the beginning that he is going to be living as a cousin in the apartment.The apartment is New York city
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Jun 16, 2012, 10:26 AM