Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    tiggerella Posts: 184, Reputation: 13

Jun 13, 2012, 07:10 PM
    Is it immoral to have someone call to see if my boss lies on reference calls?
    I have been working in a less-than-ideal situation for many years now and I'm trying to get a different job. I seem to have a good resume and cover letter, as I get into interviews. I seem to be hitting the right marks with the interviewer, who often ends with "let me check your job references, then we can discuss when you can start".

Then: NOTHING.

No phone calls to discuss a start date.

No emails stating that it's not going to work out.

No response to any calls I might make to try to find out what happened.

I HAVE heard my boss give job references on employees who moved to other states, or other towns due to circumstances beyond their control and know that she's not exactly telling the full truth when she talks to potential employers for them. I've heard her say a LOT more than what the state allows her to discuss (which is, basically, whether the employee did a good job and whether she'd hire them back). I've actually even put in my cover letter that I prefer that they NOT contact my current employer, as I suspect she's doing everything in her power to keep me working with her, as when I'm even gone for a couple of days, the place goes haywire without me.

Is it legal for me to have a friend or family member whom she has never met call and ask for a job reference? Would it be morally wrong to try to find out whether she's the reason I haven't been able to get beyond a job interview since I decided the job with her wasn't right for me?

Any thoughts on this, whether you're a lawyer or not, would be appreciated.
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Jun 13, 2012, 07:13 PM
    I'm an investigator. This is not an unusual request and, yes, I do it somewhat frequently.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Jun 13, 2012, 07:14 PM