Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    rpn59 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Dec 15, 2004, 03:50 PM
    Hebrews 6
    In this chapter it's stated that those who have fallen away after knowing the love and grace of God, can no longer return for you cannot recrucify Christ a second time.

I'm finding this as a major stumbling block to returning to the Lord, :confused: after being away for many years. :confused:
    rpn59 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Dec 21, 2004, 04:41 PM
    Need help
    Does any one have any input?? Where have all the bible experts gone? Is this subject to hot for you??
    I'm looking for guidance, encouragement,help. :o
    coach438 Posts: 5, Reputation: 2

Mar 7, 2005, 10:19 AM
    Hebrews 6
    Hello:

I am sorry no one has offered a response. This is my first time here, so this is a bit late in coming.

Hebrews 6 has long been a difficult passage for many people. But its really because we don't treat the Bible with the respect we should. We often read it as if it were a story book or a history book. While it certainly contains these, that is not its primary function. It is God's word to His people. He demands of us, close examination of what he says. He wants us to put at least some effort into this relationship :).

First of all, this is not talking about salvation. Its talking about repentance. Salvation is what God does. Repentance is what we do.

Second, The phrase, “having fallen away” is in the aorist tense in the Greek. It means that this is not just in the past, but it is ongoing, continual. Then in verse 6b the writer switches to the present tense,

“they are crucifying the Son of God all over again, and subjecting him to public disgrace.”